Exeuctives and commissioners of Astra International at its annual shareholders meeting on Thursday (20/04). (Photo courtesy of Astra International)

Astra Shareholders Approve Rp 6.8t Dividend Payout, Appoint New Director and Commissioner


APRIL 23, 2017

Jakarta. Astra International's annual shareholders meeting in Jakarta on Thursday (20/04) approved dividend payouts of Rp 6.8 trillion — $510 million — and the appointment of a new director and a commissioner, the company said in a statement on the same day.

The dividend payouts represent 44.87 percent of the company's profit last year and equal to a return of Rp 168 per share for investors. Astra enjoyed a 4.8 percent increase in its net income last year, as rising car sales and improving global commodity prices made up for a slump in the company's bank and heavy machinery businesses.

The company's profit last year stood at Rp 15.2 trillion, up from Rp 14.5 trillion in 2015.

Astra had already paid an interim dividend on Oct. 21, leaving the remaining Rp 113 per share in dividend to be paid to investors on May 19.

The company will keep the remaining Rp 8.35 trillion from its net income as retained earnings.

The shareholders also approved the appointment of a new director to sit on the company's board of directors: Indonesian national Henry Tanoto, currently the Vice President Director of Toyota Astra Motor, a joint venture between Astra and Toyota.

Henry has been in his current position since 2015. Starting his career in 1995 as a staff at Toyota Astra Motor's National Service Division, Henry has held various important positions, including the chief of marketing for Toyota Sales Operation at Astra International.

Shareholders also appointed a new independent commissioner to sit on its board of commissioners, Japanese national Yasutoshi Sugimoto, currently the general manager of Singapore-based Toyota Motor Asia Pacific, a subsidiary of Japanese automotive giant Toyota Motor Corporation.

The following is the approved board of directors and commissioners based on Thursday's shareholders meeting:

Board of Directors

President Director: Prijono Sugiarto

Independent Director: Bambang Widjanarko Santoso

Director: Widya Wiryawan

Director: Johannes Loman

Director: Suparno Djasmin

Director: Djony Bunarto Tjondro

Director: Chiew Sin Cheok

Director: Gidion Hasan

Director: Henry Tanoto (new)

Board of Commissioners:

President Commissioner: Budi Setiadharma

Independent Commissioner: Sidharta Utama

Independent Commissioner: Mari Elka Pangestu

Independent Commissioner: Muhamad Chatib Basri

Independent Commissioner: Yasutoshi Sugimoto (new)

Commissioner: Anthony John Liddell Nightingale

Commissioner: Benjamin William Keswick

Commissioner: Mark Spencer Greenberg

Commissioner: Jonathan Chang

Commissioner: David Alexander Newbigging

Commissioner: John Raymond Witt

Commissioner: Adrian Teng Wei Ann