Sri Mulyani Indrawati returns to Finance Ministry post and Wiranto takes up the the new chief secrity post as President Joko 'Jokowi' Widodo shakes his cabinet for the second time to establish a new team than can work in speed and solid manner. (SP Photo/Joanito de Saojoao)

BREAKING: Sri Mulyani, Wiranto Return to Cabinet as President Eager to Establish Solid Team


JULY 27, 2016

Jakarta. Sri Mulyani Indrawati will return to the Finance Ministry post and Wiranto takes up the the new chief security post as President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo shakes up his cabinet for the second time to establish a new team.

"We are facing many challenges. We must overcome poverty and close the gap between the rich and poor, closing the disparity among regions," Jokowi said.

"We have to strengthen our economy to face challenges in the global economy which is weakening and at the same time increasingly challenging," he added

"The challenges will be always changing; that needs speed to decide and speed in taking action," Jokowi said.

“I want the cabinet to give maximum efforts to work faster in a solid team so that the results can be perceived by public as soon as possible. Based on some considerations, I and Vice President Jusuf Kalla have decided the second cabinet reshuffle,” Jokowi said.

Energy Minister Sudirman Said and Coordinating Maritime Minister Rizal Ramli were removed from their positions. The two have clashed several time, most notably in determining gas block location in South Maluku (Masela Block), that reflected sharp divisions within the cabinet.

Four ministers are swapped positions, including:

1. Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan swapped from Coordinating Minister for Politic, Law and Security to Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs

2. Bambang Brodjonegoro swapped from Finance Minister to Head of National Development Planning Agency (Bappenas)

3. Sofyan Djalil swapped from Head of National Development Planning Agency to Spatial Planning Minister, replacing Ferry Mursyidan Baldan

4. Thomas Lembong swapped from Trade Minister to Head of Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM)

Jokowi also introduced nine new ministers:

1. Wiranto as Coordinating Minister for Politics, Law and Security

Wiranto, the founder of the the People's Conscience Party (Hanura Party), is replacing Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan as a Chief Security Minister. Both Luhut and Wiranto have military backgrounds. Former Army general Wiranto has extensive experience in handling securities issues during the transition from the New Order to the Reformation era. Wiranto served as Chief Security Minister during Abdurahman Wahid presidency.

2. Sri Mulyani Indrawati as Finance Minister

Sri Mulyani, who is just about to finish her tenure as World Bank managing director and chief operating officer, is back to become a Finance Minister again after serving under former president Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono. The government claims the World Bank has allowed Sri Mulyani leaving her post effective immediately. She is replacing Bambang Brodjonegoro who has become the Head of National Development Planning Agency (Bappenas)

3. Eko Putro Sanjoyo as Disadvantaged Regions and Transmigration Minister

Eko Putro Sanjoyo, a politician from Partai Kebangkitan Bangsa, is replacing Marwan Jafar as Villages, Disadvantaged Regions and Transmigration Minister.

4. Budi Karya Sumadi as Transportation Minister

The president chose Budi to become Transport Minister replacing Ignasius Jonan. Prior to his tenure as Transport Minister, Budi served as the president director of the state airport operator Angkasa Pura II.

5. Muhadjir Effendi as Education Minister

Prof. Muhajir, who previously served as a dean at Muhammadiyah University in Malang, is replacing Anies Baswedan as minister for education.

6. Enggartiasto Lukita as Trade Minister

Enggar, a well-known businessman in property, is a National Democrat party politician. The former Realestat Indonesia chairman is replacing Thomas Trikasih Lembong to become a Trade Minister. Lembong will serve as Indonesia's Investment Coordinating Board chairman replacing Franky Sibarani.

7. Airlangga Hartanto as Industry Minister

Airlangga Hartato, who now serves as the Ministry of Industry replacing Saleh Husin, is a Golkar Party politician. He was the chairman of Indonesia Listed Companies Association (AEI) during the 2011-2014 period. Related to his current post, he was the head of Commission VI of the House of Representatives overseeing industry, trade, small-medium enterprises, investment and state-owned companies.

8. Archanda Tahar as Energy Minister

Archandra Tahar has become the Energy and Mineral Resources Minister replacing Sudirman Said. Archandra, an Institut Teknologi Bandung alumnus, was behind the idea to build the Masela offshore block. He was asked by Pertamina in 2014 as an expert from the US-based Petroneering Consulting Houston to consult in the offshore L-Parigi project.

9. Asman Abnur as Administrative and Bureaucratic Reform Minister

Asman Abnur, another politician, is a representation from Partai Amanat Nasional (PAN). He replacing Yuddy Chrisnandi as Administrative and Bureaucratic Reform Minister