The omnibus law is expected to spearhead government efforts to attract investment and create jobs in a slowing economy. (Antara Photo/Aprillio Akbar)

Businesspeople Dominate Govt's Omnibus Bill Task Force

DECEMBER 16, 2019

Jakarta. The Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto has named members of prominent business lobby groups along with government officials, academics and journalists in a task force to lead public consultation on the omnibus bill on job creation and taxation.

The bill will spearhead the government's efforts to attract investment and create jobs in a slowing Indonesian economy. 

It seeks to revise hundreds of articles in the existing laws in one fell swoop, with the main goal to eliminate bureaucratic red tapes that persist in many areas – from taxation and business licensing to land issues and local government autonomy.

According to a ministerial decree issued on Monday, business lobby groups will have a lot to say in the bill consultation process. 

The decree named Rosan Roeslani, the chairman of the Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Kadin), as chair of the task force.

Kadin's 14 members have also joined the task force, including Erwin Aksa, the chairman of Makassar-based conglomerate Bosowa Group, and  Hendro Gondokusumo, the founder and chief executive of Intiland Development. 

Hariyadi Sukamdani from the Indonesian Hotels and Restaurants Association (PHRI) and Benny Soetrisno, the chairman of the Association of Indonesian Exporters (GPEI), are also in the team.

Jakarta Governor Anies Baswedan, South Tangerang Mayor Airin Rachmi Diana and Banyuwangi Disctrict Head Abdullah Azwar Anas represent the voice of regional governments in the task force. 

Airlangga also included chancellors from eleven of the largest universities in Indonesia in the team, including from Gajah Mada University in Yogyakarta, Udayana University in Bali and Hassanuddin University in Makassar. 

Corporate lawyer Melly Darsa and economist Umar Juoro were also included, along with veteran journalists Suryo Pratomo of Metro TV and Arif Budisusilo of Bisnis Indonesia.