Indosat Ooredoo appointed Chris Kanter as president director on Wednesday. (Photo courtesy of Indosat Ooredoo)

Indosat Appoints Chris Kanter as President Director


OCTOBER 18, 2018

Jakarta. Indonesia's second-largest telecommunications service provider, Indosat Ooredoo, appointed Chris Kanter as president director on Wednesday, replacing Joy Wahyudi, who stepped down for personal reasons at the end of September.

Chris, who has been an Indosat commissioner since 2010, has extensive experience in the telecommunications industry. He previously served as vice president commissioner at BNP Paribas Indonesia, the local unit of the French lender, and held senior positions at various other institutions.

The native of Manado,  North Sulawesi, currently also acts as an adviser to both the Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Kadin) and Indonesian Employers Association (Apindo). Chris has further been a senior adviser to the Ministry of Trade since 2014. He was also deputy chairman of Kadin between 1994 and 2015.

Chris served in the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR) between 1998 and 2002 and he was a member of the Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM) between 2010 and 2014. He also was also chairman of the German-Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry between 2007 and 2009.

Indosat said in a statement that Chris's extensive experience, both local and international, would greatly benefit the company.

During an extraordinary shareholder meeting on Wednesday, Indosat also appointed Eyas Naif Assaf and Arif Musta'in as directors, replacing Caba Pinter and Herfini Haryono.

The list of commissioners and directors is as follows:


Waleed Mohamed Ebrahim Alsayed (president)

Hans Anthony Kuropatwa

Hilal Suleiman Malawi

Heru Pambudi

Edy Sudarman

Andrew Tor Oddvar Kvalseth

Ahmad Abdulaziz Al-Neama

Syed Maqbul Quader (independent)

Elisa Lumbantoruan (independent)

Wijayanto Samirin (independent)


Chris Kanter (president)

Eyas Naif Assaf

Arief Musta'in

Haroon Shahul Hameed

Irsyad Sahroni (independent)