Finance Minister Sri Mulyani, right, and Coordinating Economic Minister Darmin Nasution. (Antara Photo/Rivan Awal Lingga)

OJK Commissioner Candidates Announced


FEBRUARY 08, 2017

Jakarta. The special team responsible for selecting the financial regulator's board of commissioners, announced the names on Wednesday (08/07) of 107 candidates from 843 applications who have passed the first screening process.

The candidates come from various backgrounds, including the financial sector, monetary authorities, banking executives, academics and politicians.

"All of the candidates who passed the administrative screening will go through to the second selection stage [which includes] inputs from the community, track record screening and documentation," Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati, who is the selection team leader, said in a statement.

The names include seven existing Financial Services Authority (OJK) commissioners, including OJK chairman Muliaman Hadad, vice chairman Rahmat Waluyanto, commissioner for banking supervision Nelson Tampubolon, commissioner for non-banking financial institutions Firdaus Djaelani, commissioner for capital market supervision Nurhaida, commissioner for consumer education and protection Kusumaningtuti S. Soetiono and audit committee head Ilya Avianti.

The names of Bank Indonesia spokesman Tirta Segara, Deposit Insurance Corporation (LPS) chief executive Fauzi Ichsan and Indonesia Stock Exchange (IDX) president director Tito Sulistio also appear on the list.

As expected, senior bankers such as Sigit Pramono from the Indonesian Institute for Corporate Directorship (IICD) and Indonesian Bankers Association chairman Zulkifli Zaini also joined the race.

There are two politicians on the list as well. They are Melchias Markus Mekeng and Andreas Eddy Susetyo. Both are members of House of Representatives Commission XI, which oversees the banking industry.

Addressing concerns over a possible conflict of interest if lawmakers from Commission XI join the selection process, Sri said the OJK has to be run by people with strong integrity.

The 107 candidates will need to pass three more stages in the recruitment process. Only 21 names will be submitted to President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo on March 13.

The president will pick 14 names to submit to the House of Representatives, which will elect seven. They will be inaugurated on July 21.