Chief commissioner of the General Elections Commission (KPU) Arief Budiman, second from right, with the head of the Election Monitoring Agency (Bawaslu) Abhan, second from left, at the KPU office early on Tuesday morning. (Antara Photo/Dhemas Reviyanto)

Jokowi Wins Re-Election, PDI-P Wins Most Seats


MAY 21, 2019

Jakarta. After more than a month of vote-counting marred by protests and accusations of fraud, the General Elections Commission, or KPU, announced the winners of last month's simultaneous presidential and legislative elections early on Tuesday morning, a day ahead of schedule. 

As quick counts have predicted, KPU declared incumbent president Joko "Jokowi" Widodo and his running mate Ma'ruf Amin as the winners of the presidential election, and the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P), Jokowi's main political backer, as the winner of the legislative one. 


Of the 154.26 million valid votes that were cast, 55.5 percent or 85.6 million votes were in favor of the Jokowi-Ma'ruf ticket.

Contenders Prabowo Subianto and running mate Sandiaga Uno won 44.5 percent of the vote or a total of 68.6 million votes.

There were 3.75 million invalid ballot papers, 2.38 percent of the total 158 million votes cast on April 17. 

JG Illustration
JG Illustration

The surprise announcement was read just after midnight on Tuesday by KPU commissioner Evi Novida Ginting Manik.

Jokowi and Ma'ruf won most of the votes in 21 of Indonesia's 34 provinces: Gorontalo, Central Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, West Kalimantan, Bangka Belitung, Bali, West Sulawesi, Yogyakarta, East Kalimantan, Lampung, North Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, East Java, East Nusa Tenggara, Central Java, Riau Islands, West Papua, Jakarta, North Sumatra, Maluku, Papua and also the overseas vote.

Prabowo and Sandiaga won in 13 provinces: Bengkulu, South Kalimantan, North Maluku, Jambi, South Sumatra, Banten, Southeast Sulawesi, Aceh, West Nusa Tenggara, West Sumatra, West Java, Riau and South Sulawesi.

The Prabowo-Sandiaga camp has declined to sign off on the final vote count. 

JG Illustration
JG Illustration

PDI-P Win Big Again

Meanwhile in the legislative election, PDI-P has repeated its success in 2014, winning 19.33 percent of the vote. 

Prabowo's political party Gerindra placed second with 12.57 percent of the vote.

There were 139.9 million valid votes cast in the legislative election. 

This is the final result of the legislative election according to the KPU's official count:

  1. PDI-P: 27,053,961 votes (19.33 percent)
  2. Gerindra: 17,594,839 votes (12.57 percent)
  3. Golkar: 17,229,789 votes (12.31 percent)
  4. PKB: 13,570,097 votes (9.69 percent)
  5. Nasdem: 12,661,792 votes (9.05 percent)
  6. PKS: 11,493,663 votes (8.21 percent)
  7. Democratic Party: 10,876,507 votes (7.7 percent)
  8. PAN: 9,572,623 votes (6.84 percent)
  9. PPP: 6,323,147 votes (4.52 percent)
  10. Perindo: 3,738,320 votes (2.76 percent)
  11. Berkarya: 2,929,495 votes (2.09 percent)
  12. PSI: 2,650,361 votes (1.89 percent)
  13. Hanura: 2,161,507 votes (1.54 percent)
  14. PBB: 1,099,848 votes (0.79 percent)
  15. Garuda: 702,536 votes (0.5 percent)
  16. PKPI: 312,775 votes (0.22 percent)


Gerindra, PKS and PAN have declined to sign off on the vote recapitulation document. The three political parties are supporters of the Prabowo-Sandiaga ticket.

Election Dispute

Election contestants can file objections to the Constitutional Court within three days, KPU chief commissioner Arief Budiman said.

"Anyone who wants to dispute the election result can do it by filing an official objection to the Constitutional Court within 3x24 hours," Arief said.

If no one objects to the KPU result, the election organizer will make its final announcement on May 24, he said.