Joko 'Jokowi' Widodo and his running mate Ma'ruf Amin have won the 2019 presidential election. (Antara Photo/Akbar Nugroho Gumay)

KPU Completes Official Vote Count With Jokowi-Ma'ruf on 55.5%


MAY 21, 2019

Jakarta. The General Elections Commission, or KPU, has completed the tabulation of ballots in the 2019 presidential election on Monday evening.

The official tally shows the incumbent, President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo, and his running mate Ma'ruf Amin having won most of the votes in 21 of Indonesia's 34 provinces.

Rival pair Prabowo Subianto and Sandiaga Uno won the remainder.

The real count was widely expected to only be finalized on the May 22 deadline.

Jokowi-Ma'ruf also received most of the votes at polling stations abroad.

Any further objections to the election result must now be filed in the Constitutional Court.

Of the 154.26 million valid votes that were cast, 55.5 percent were in favor of Jokowi-Ma'ruf.

However, the KPU's website had not been updated by Monday night and still showed progress in the real count at 91.86 percent, with 55.51 percent of the vote in favor of Jokowi-Ma'ruf.

Indonesia held its first simultaneous presidential and legislative elections on April 17.

"We will finalize documents in the total tabulation from 34 provinces and overseas polling stations to complete the process," KPU chief commissioner Arief Budiman said early Tuesday morning.

Jokowi-Ma'ruf won in Gorontalo, Central Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, West Kalimantan, Bangka Belitung, Bali, West Sulawesi, Yogyakarta, East Kalimantan, Lampung, North Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, East Java, East Nusa Tenggara, Central Java, Riau Islands, West Papua, Jakarta, North Sumatra, Maluku and Papua.

Prabowo-Sandiaga won in Bengkulu, South Kalimantan, North Maluku, Jambi, South Sumatra, Banten, Southeast Sulawesi, Aceh, West Nusa Tenggara, West Sumatra, West Java, Riau and South Sulawesi.