The Indonesian Film Producers Association (Aprofi) has appointed board members for the period 2016 to 2019. (Photo courtesy of Studio Produksi Film Negara)

Mira Lesmana Appointed as Adviser to Indonesian Film Producers Association


NOVEMBER 10, 2016

Jakarta. The Indonesian Film Producers Association, or Aprofi, has appointed board members for the period 2016 to 2019, naming acclaimed film director and producer Mira Lesmana as one of its advisers.

"Our primary agenda is to increase the capacity of [the association's] members, develop the film business ecosystem to be more ethical and just, and to play a crucial role in formulating the film industry's policies," newly appointed Aprofi chairman Fauzan Zidni said, as quoted by Antara.

Mira, filmmaker and screenwriter Shanty Harmayn, and actress Sheila Timothy, who is the former chairwoman, were chosen as advisory board members.

Prominent Indonesian directors Angga Dwimas Sasongko and Yosep Anggi Noen were also appointed to the board. Angga will be responsible for advocacy and public policy and Yosep for film festivals.

Aprofi was established as a professional and independent organization with 39 active members in October 2013 to arrange various initiatives for advocacy, networking and overall improvement of the Indonesian film industry.