Ex-Minister, Top Officials From Yudhoyono Era Join Jokowi's Presidential Staff Office


DECEMBER 30, 2018

Jakarta. Chatib Basri, finance minister during the presidency of Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, and Syahrul Yasin Limpo, the former governor of South Sulawesi, are among 11 new appointees to the Presidential Staff Office.

"[Their jobs] will be to provide input to the chief of the Presidential Staff Office," Eko Sulistyo, deputy for communication and information dissemination at the office, told Detik.com.

The Presidential Staff Office, which was established in 2015, is a nonstructural government agency resorting directly under and reporting to President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo.

The office supports the president and vice president and advises them on national priority programs, political affairs and strategic matters.


Teten Masduki was the first chief of the Presidential Staff Office, which is currently headed by Moeldoko, the former commander of the Indonesian Military (TNI).

"Yesterday, they were all summoned by the chief of staff ... the agenda was to meet and get statements of interest," Eko said, as quoted by the news portal.

He denied that the 11 new members were appointed based on political considerations, saying that they were chosen for their skills and expertise.

"The senior advisers were appointed for their ability and expertise in their respective fields and experience in their service to the government," Eko said.

"For example, Chatib will advise [the president] on macroeconomic issues, [while] Yasin Limpo has experience in bureaucracy, from being a village chief, to district head, to governor, etc. Their experience is much needed," Eko added.

The new members of the Presidential Staff Office are as follows:

  • Kuntoro Mangkusubroto
  • Andi Widjajanto
  • Muhammad Chatib Basri
  • Imam Prasodjo
  • Makmur Keliat
  • Rahmawati Husein
  • Yando Zakaria
  • Haryadi
  • Edy Priyono
  • Syahrul Yasin Limpo
  • Jonathan Tahir