Golkar's Ade Inaugurated as House Speaker Amid Protests

Ade Komarudin was sworn in as Speaker of the House of Representatives earlier this month. (Antara Photo/Akbar Nugroho Gumay)

By : Robertus Wardhy & Hotman Siregar | on 4:54 PM January 11, 2016
Category : News, Politics, Featured

Jakarta. The House of Representatives on Monday inaugurated Golkar Party politician Ade Komarudin as the new speaker, despite massive protests from lawmakers of all persuasions.

Golkar, a major force in the Red and White Coalition opposition bloc, led the charge in a plenary meeting riddled with vocal objection.

The timing of the meeting drew criticism from many lawmakers who noted colleagues from the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P), the party of President Joko Widodo, were absent due to the party's congress held this week in North Jakarta.

Ade, a former Golkar faction chief at the House, was inaugurated regardless.

Deputy House speaker Fahri Hamzah presided over the plenary meeting and refused to respond to interruptions from lawmakers who opposed the inauguration. Lawmakers' microphones were reportedly shut down during the meeting.

Democratic Party lawmaker Ruhut Sitompul called on his colleagues to not "force their will" and to postpone the inauguration to give PDI-P members the opportunity to cast their votes.

Pro-government members of Golkar also voiced their protests.

Golkar's Melchias Marcus Mekeng said the House could not inaugurate Ade as the party is yet to settle its long-running internal rift and legal issues. A rival camp within the party has proposed senior politician Agus Gumiwang should take the speaker position.

Fahri, however, maintained during the meeting that House leaders have not received an official letter nominating Agus for a role.

Ade replaced Setya Novanto, the disgraced former speaker who recently stepped down while facing an Ethics Council probe. Setya will take over Ade's job as Golkar caucus chief.

Ade is a savvy politician who has been elected three time into three different West Java electoral regions: Bekasi, Karawang and Purwakarta.

Show More