An Indonesian medical worker shows a vaccine candidate against coronavirus prior to the clinical trial at Padjadjaran University’s Faculty of Medicine in Bandung, West Java, on August 6, 2020. (Antara Photo/M Agung Rajasa)

Indonesia Allocates $2.8b for Covid-19 Vaccine


SEPTEMBER 08, 2020

Jakarta. The Indonesian government has allocated the equivalent of $2.8 billion in multi-year budget for the development, production and procurement of a vaccine against Covid-19.

Coordinating Minister for the Economy Airlangga Hartarto said on Monday the budget will support the Merah Putih (red and white) Vaccine project initiated by the Research and Technology Ministry. 

The local vaccine, named after the colors of the national flag, is being developed by a consortium comprising the ministry, the Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology, the Technology Assessment and Application Agency (BPPT) and the Indonesian Institute of Science (LIPI).

The Rp 40.8 trillion budget will also finance the import of vaccine from other countries.


“The government has prepared a budget of Rp 3.8 trillion for vaccine procurement this year, and another Rp 37 trillion for multi-year spending on vaccine,” Airlangga said after a cabinet meeting at the State Palace in Jakarta.

Indonesia has reached a deal with China’s Sinovac Biotech on the supply of 290 million doses of vaccine, and another agreement with G42 Health Care Industry in the United Arab Emirates for an additional 30 million doses.

President Joko Widodo has earlier signed a decree on the establishment of the national vaccine development team chaired by Research and Technology Minister Bambang Brodjonegoro.

The team is tasked with accelerating Covid-19 vaccine development in Indonesia, achieving self-sufficiency in the vaccine, improving coordination among research and development agencies and enhancing national capability in Covid-19 vaccine production, according to the decree dated Sept. 3.

It comprises Health Minister Terawan Agus Putranto and State-Owned Enterprises Minister Erick Thohir as deputy chairmen, with members including Foreign Minister Retno Marsudi, Industry Minister Agus Gumiwang, Trade Minister Agus Suparmanto, Education and Culture Minister Nadiem Makarim and Food and Drug Control Agency Chairwoman Penny Lukito.

The president gave the team until Dec. 31, 2021 to accomplish the mission.