An ambulance transports the body of a Covid-19 victim to a cemetery in Bogor, West Java on July 16, 2021. (JG Photo/Yudha Baskoro)

Indonesia Introduces New Covid-19 Alert System


JULY 21, 2021

Jakarta. The Indonesian government adopted a new alert system regarding the Covid-19 outbreak to manage the level of risks and determine necessary intervention based on the risk level.

According to a Home Affairs Minister’s decree released to the media on Wednesday, the term “state of emergency” is no longer in use and instead the government will apply alert level 1-4.


The decree was issued after President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo extended restrictions in Java and Bali until July 25.

The four-tiered risk measurement follows World Health Organization’s guidelines based on caseloads, death toll and hospitalization numbers.

Level four -- the highest -- currently applies in entire Jakarta and many other cities mainly in Java, according to the decree signed by Home Affirs Minister Tito Karnavian.

The highest alert is issued in a region where there are more than 150 Covid cases, more than 30 hospitalized Covid patients and more than five deaths per 100,000 people per week.

Under this alert level, malls, public facilities and resort areas are closed, food and beverages outlets can only offer takeaway or delivery services, grocery stores and supermarkets can operate until 8.00 p.m. with 50 percent capacity limits, drug stores can operate normally for 24 hours, travelers must show negative test and vaccination status, and non-essential businesses must apply work-from-home policy. 

The thresholds in level three include 50-150 cases, 10-30 hospitalizations and two to five deaths per 100,000 people per week.

Restrictions are relaxed a bit, with malls and sit-down meals and drinks allowed until 5.00 p.m. within 25 percent of capacity.

Level two puts the thresholds at between 20 and 49 Covid-19 cases, between five and nine hospitalizations and one death per 100,000 people per week.

Level one applies when all indicators fall below the level two thresholds.

The new alert system is implemented with corresponding color-coded risk level, including green (low risk), yellow (medium risk), orange (high risk) and red (public emergency).

In addition to Jakarta, these cities and districts currently fall into the level-four alert system:

West Java Province: Purwakarta, Karawang, Bekasi District, Sukabumi, Depok, Cirebon, Cimahi City, Bogor City, Bekasi City, Banjar, Bandung City and Tasikmalaya.

Banten Province: South Tangerang, Tangerang City, Serang City.

Central Java Province: Sukoharjo, Rembang, Pati, Kudus, Klaten, Kebumen, Grobogan, Banyumas, Tegal, Surakarta, Semarang City, Salatiga and Magelang City.

Yogyakarta Province: Sleman, Bantul and Yogyakarta City.

East Java Province: Tulungagung, Sidoarjo, Madiun District, Lamongan, Gresik, Surabaya, Mojokerto, Malang City, Madiun City, Kediri, Blitar and Batu.