Indonesian Ambassador to the UN Dian Triansyah Djani urges nuclear-weapon states to start the disarmament process, during the nuclear weapons ban talks at the United Nations headquarters on Monday (27/03). (Photo Courtesy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs)

Indonesia Urges Nuclear-Weapon States to Start Disarmament Process


MARCH 28, 2017

Jakarta. Indonesia urged nuclear-weapon states to start the disarmament process at the nuclear weapons ban talks at the United Nations headquarters in New York on Monday (27/03).

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs quoted Indonesian Ambassador to the UN Dian Triansyah Djani as saying that while nuclear states cite security reasons to legitimize their possession of the weapons, they are the ones who threaten global security.

"The current concern of world security are the nuclear-weapon threats. The only way to defend [ourselves] against these threats is to completely eliminate nuclear weapons," Dian said in the statement.

He also stressed the importance of the new treaty to be unambiguous, "with no legal gaps that might legitimize the existence of nuclear weapons," and added that it will not weaken the existing Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), but will complement it.

The NPT is an international treaty on preventing the spread of nuclear weapons.

The United Nations conference to negotiate the ban is in line with a resolution adopted by the UN General Assembly in December.

More than 100 UN member states, president of the UN General Assembly and high representative of the secretary-general for disarmament were in attendance. The next session will take place in June.

Reuters reported that almost 40 countries, including the United States, Britain and France, are not going to join the talks. It quoted US Ambassador Nikki Haley as saying that the countries skipping the negotiations are instead committed to the NPT.

Indonesia signed the NPT in 1970 and ratified it in 1979. A total of 191 countries have signed the treaty, including five states which possess nuclear weapons. Four other nuclear states, India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea, are not the signatories.