Indonesian Football Association (PSSI) electoral committee head Agum Gumelar, right, shakes hands with one of the verified chairmanship candidates, retired Indonesian Military (TNI) chief Gen. Moeldoko. (Antara Photo/Wahyu Putro A.)

PSSI Electoral Committee Announces Names of Eight Chairmanship Candidates


SEPTEMBER 12, 2016

Jakarta. The electoral committee of the Indonesian Football Association, or PSSI, has issued a list of eight verified candidates who will participate in its next chairmanship election.

The decision has been announced by committee head Agum Gumelar at his residence in Jakarta on Saturday (10/09), Detiksport reported.

The eight names are former national football team manager Benhard Limbong, former PSSI chairman Djohar Arifin, Eddy Rumpoko, former PSSI secretary general Toni Aprilani, former Indonesian Military (TNI) chief Gen. Moeldoko, former Army Strategic Reserve Command (Kostrad) chief Lt. Gen. Edy Rahmayadi, Vice President Jusuf Kalla's nephew Erwin Aksa, and legendary Indonesian striker Kurniawan Dwi Yulianto.

Another eight prospective candidates, who have not been verified, will have seven days to appeal before the committee finalizes the candidate list for the election in October. This includes Sports Minister Imam Nahrawi.

"Most of candidates who failed the verification process did not conform to the basic requirements, such as completing the B1 form or consent statements for their candidacy," Agum said.

The final list of candidates will be announced on Sept. 18.

"After that [announcement], there will be a publicity drive before the congress," Agum said.