KPK Selection Committee Narrows Candidates for Advisory Council


MARCH 22, 2017

Jakarta. The selection committee for the national antigraft agency’s advisory council has narrowed its candidates to 13 from 34 following a second phase of deliberations.

These selected candidates will join interview sessions for the final phase of the selection process.

"After the administrative selection process, there were 34 candidates who had passed. We have conducted written, psychological and health tests. Currently, there are 13 candidates who have made it to the next phase, which is the interview stage," selection committee chairman Imam Prasodjo said at the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) building in South Jakarta on Tuesday (21/03).

The interview sessions are scheduled to take place early next week.

"On Sunday, at 9.30 a.m., we will announce who will be called for the interview sessions. On Monday, March 27, we will interview the remaining candidates," Imam said.

Mahfud M.D., a member of the committee, said that in previous stages these candidates underwent psychological tests to assess their integrity and leadership abilities.

The committee has urged the public to provide any information on the remaining candidates they feel might benefit the committee in its selections. These reports, according to the agency, are intended to guarantee the independence and integrity of the KPK advisory council.

After the interview phase is concluded, the committee will select eight names out of the 13 to qualify for the next round of selection. KPK will ultimately select four candidates to be inaugurated as advisers to the KPK council.

The remaining 13 candidates hail from diverse backgrounds and professions, including university lecturers and business leaders.

"In terms of education, there are graduates from faculties of law, information technology, banking and psychology," committee member Busyro Muqoddas said.

The 13 candidates set to be interviewed later this week are Antonius Manurung, Budi Santoso, Burhanudin, Edi Sutarto, Edward Efendi Silalahi, Johanes Ibrahim Kosasih, Moh. Tsani Annafari, Muhammad Arief, Nindya Nazara, Robi Arya Brata, Sarwono Sutikno, Vicensius Manahan Silalahi and Wahyu Sardjono.